Difference between revisions of "Boot Sequence"

From LinuxMCE
Jump to: navigation, search
(Reformat and adding screenshots.)
Line 1: Line 1:
<p>The core and the media directors run lots of maintenance tasks at bootup to do a variety of tasks.  This page lets you change these settings, choose what tasks you want run, and in what order.</p>
+
[[Category:Admin Website]]
<p>First choose the computer you want to modify.  Then, you will see all the boot tasks.  Only the tasks with "Enabled" checked will be at bootup. The "Command" is the actual program, or script, that will be run.  They will be run in the order indicated.  The numbers do not have to be sequential.  For example, you can give 1 command an order of "10", and another of "20", and another "15".  The command with the order 10 will be run first, then 15, then 20.  If "Background" is checked, then the task will be run as a background process.  This means the next command will start being executed whether or not this one is finished.  If background is not checked, then the system will run one command and wait for it to finish before running the next one.  Some commands require parameters.  If they do, you will see an explanation describing what parameters they require so you know what value to put in the "Parameters" box.  Some commands are run every time the system boots up, and some are run only when something has changed in the computer's configuration.  For example, there is a script that sets up any new users, creating email accounts for them and so on.  This only happens when the users have changed.  This makes the bootup process faster, since it won't be doing this task every time the system boots, since most of the time nothing has changed.  Whenever you make a change to a computer that requires it be re-configured, like adding a new user, then that computer will be flagged "Needs configuring", and the next time it boots all the scripts, including those marked 'configure only' will be executed.  If the computer does not need configuring, it will not run the scripts marked 'configure only'.  You can look at the computer in the 'Advanced' 'My Devices' page to see if it needs to be configured, and to change that flag.</p>
+
[[Category:Automation]]
 +
{| align="right"
 +
  | __TOC__
 +
  |}
 +
 
 +
[[Image:BootSequence.jpg|thumb|200px|Boot Sequence Advanced Admin Page]]
 +
The core and the media directors run lots of maintenance tasks at bootup to do a variety of tasks.  This page lets you change these settings, choose what tasks you want run, and in what order.
 +
 
 +
==Choose a Computer==
 +
First choose the computer you want to modify.  Then, you will see all the boot tasks.   
 +
   
 +
===Command===
 +
The "Command" is the actual program, or script, that will be run.  They will be run in the order indicated.  The numbers do not have to be sequential.  For example, you can give 1 command an order of "10", and another of "20", and another "15".  The command with the order 10 will be run first, then 15, then 20.  
 +
 
 +
===Enabled===
 +
Only the tasks with "Enabled" checked will be at bootup.
 +
   
 +
===Background===
 +
If "Background" is checked, then the task will be run as a background process.  This means the next command will start being executed whether or not this one is finished.  If background is not checked, then the system will run one command and wait for it to finish before running the next one.   
 +
 
 +
===Parameters===
 +
Some commands require parameters.  If they do, you will see an explanation describing what parameters they require so you know what value to put in the "Parameters" box.   
 +
 
 +
===Configure Only===
 +
Some commands are run every time the system boots up, and some are run only when something has changed in the computer's configuration.  For example, there is a script that sets up any new users, creating email accounts for them and so on.  This only happens when the users have changed.  This makes the bootup process faster, since it won't be doing this task every time the system boots, since most of the time nothing has changed.  Whenever you make a change to a computer that requires it be re-configured, like adding a new user, then that computer will be flagged "Needs configuring", and the next time it boots all the scripts, including those marked 'configure only' will be executed.  If the computer does not need configuring, it will not run the scripts marked 'configure only'.  You can look at the computer in the 'Advanced' 'My Devices' page to see if it needs to be configured, and to change that flag.

Revision as of 14:52, 10 November 2007

Boot Sequence Advanced Admin Page

The core and the media directors run lots of maintenance tasks at bootup to do a variety of tasks. This page lets you change these settings, choose what tasks you want run, and in what order.

Choose a Computer

First choose the computer you want to modify. Then, you will see all the boot tasks.

Command

The "Command" is the actual program, or script, that will be run. They will be run in the order indicated. The numbers do not have to be sequential. For example, you can give 1 command an order of "10", and another of "20", and another "15". The command with the order 10 will be run first, then 15, then 20.

Enabled

Only the tasks with "Enabled" checked will be at bootup.

Background

If "Background" is checked, then the task will be run as a background process. This means the next command will start being executed whether or not this one is finished. If background is not checked, then the system will run one command and wait for it to finish before running the next one.

Parameters

Some commands require parameters. If they do, you will see an explanation describing what parameters they require so you know what value to put in the "Parameters" box.

Configure Only

Some commands are run every time the system boots up, and some are run only when something has changed in the computer's configuration. For example, there is a script that sets up any new users, creating email accounts for them and so on. This only happens when the users have changed. This makes the bootup process faster, since it won't be doing this task every time the system boots, since most of the time nothing has changed. Whenever you make a change to a computer that requires it be re-configured, like adding a new user, then that computer will be flagged "Needs configuring", and the next time it boots all the scripts, including those marked 'configure only' will be executed. If the computer does not need configuring, it will not run the scripts marked 'configure only'. You can look at the computer in the 'Advanced' 'My Devices' page to see if it needs to be configured, and to change that flag.