Difference between revisions of "Users"

From LinuxMCE
Jump to: navigation, search
Line 11: Line 11:
 
<p><b>Language</b>:  Is the user's language.  Whenever possible, the system will display everything for this user in this language.</p>
 
<p><b>Language</b>:  Is the user's language.  Whenever possible, the system will display everything for this user in this language.</p>
 
<p><b>Primary Installation</b>:  If you have multiple homes or installations joined together, this is the primary one for this user.</p>
 
<p><b>Primary Installation</b>:  If you have multiple homes or installations joined together, this is the primary one for this user.</p>
 +
[[Category: Admin Website]]

Revision as of 04:06, 15 October 2007

Here you specify who will be using the system--normally just list the family members.

When you create a new user, LinuxMCE will do several things. This person will now appear as a User on all the Orbiters when you touch the "Users" button. This person will be able to save files, music, tv shows, etc., in his or her own personal folder. LinuxMCE will begin to remember that person's tv viewing preferences, and so on. Here is an explanation of all the settings for each user:

User name: This is a unique name or id for this person. No two people who have LinuxMCE can have the same user name. This is the user name that will be used to log in to the system, and for many other services. For example, this will be the unique name to receive voice-over-ip phone calls, instant chat, video conferencing, etc. When you first install your LinuxMCE system, there will be 1 user in the database already--the user that registered on linuxmce.com and created the installation. When you add a new user, your LinuxMCE Core will contact linuxmce.com and send the user name to be sure that no other person has that same user name. If that user name is taken by someone else, you will get a message and have to pick another user name. A user account will also be created on linuxmce.com. Note that the passwords are completely separate. The password you provide here when creating a new user will be the initial password on linuxmce.com, but the passwords are in way linked. When you change your password on linuxmce.com it does not effect your local password and vice versa. LinuxMCE corporate can do nothing to help you retrieve a password if it is lost, and there is no back door. If you lose your password, you will need the "Root" password you used when first setting up LinuxMCE. If there is another user within your home with "Can modify configuration" set, that user will also be able to reset a password for any other user.

Voicemail+Email: Check this box and LinuxMCE will setup both a voicemail and email account for the user.

Access general mail: Means this user can listen to voicemail left in the general mailbox.

Extension for intercom: Is a 1, 2, or 3 digit number that is this person's internal extension on the phone system. You can pick up any phone in the house and dial this extension to reach the user. Also, if you have the Auto Attendant feature where LinuxMCE answers your calls, this will be the extension the caller dials to reach this person.

Name: If you specify a "Nickname", that is the name that will appear on the user's button on the orbiter. If nickname is blank, the Orbiter will use the first name, or if that is blank, the user name. Unlike the username, the Nickname does not need to be unique and can be anything you want.

Email: If the user receives voicemail, or email in the LinuxMCE email server, it will be forwarded to this email address.

Can Modify Configuration: Means this user can configure your LinuxMCE system, add devices, change scenarios, etc. It also means this user can add other users and change other users' passwords.

Language: Is the user's language. Whenever possible, the system will display everything for this user in this language.

Primary Installation: If you have multiple homes or installations joined together, this is the primary one for this user.